BRIO is built around teams from two hospitals (Institut Bergonié and Bordeaux University Hospital), the University of Bordeaux, INSERM and CNRS. It collaborates with the Aquitaine Oncology Network (Réseau de Cancérologie d’Aquitaine – RCA) which includes all 51 hospitals (public and private) and physicians (more than 1,000) from the Aquitaine region.

The type of governance chosen for BRIO favors an optimal organisation and is based on 3 committees:


> The Committee of Trustees, coordinated by the General Director of the Institut Bergonié, meets twice a year. The tasks assigned to this committee include the control of the selection of BRIO research areas and the follow up of program results on the basis of the scientific evaluation of the External Scientific Council (see below). The Committee of Trustees votes BRIO’s annual budget on the basis of a discussion coordinated between the different participating organisations. Consequently, this committee decides to accept or reject new members as well as to exclude a member. The Director, Deputy Director and General Manager of BRIO along with the President of Aquitaine Regional Council attend those meetings as non-voting members. The representation of each SIRIC partner organisations is guaranteed and includes the Institut Bergonié, the University of Bordeaux, the Bordeaux University Hospital, INSERM, Aquitaine Regional Network (RCA), Cancéropôle Grand Sud-Ouest and the Group of Pharmaceuticals and Health Companies of the South-West region (GIPSO).

The members of the Committee of Trustees are as follows:

  • Bergonié Institute : Pr Josy Reiffers (Institut Bergonié Director)
  • Bordeaux University: Pr Manuel Tunon de Lara (University President)
  • Bordeaux University Hospital: Pr Philippe Vigouroux (CHU Bordeaux Director)
  • INSERM: Mr Jean-Jacques Toulmé (IECB Director)
  • Aquitaine Regional Network RCA: Pr Dominique Jaubert (Administrateur RCA)
  • Cancéropôle Grand Sud-Ouest: Pr Gilles Favre (Director Cancéropôle GSO)
  • GIPSO: Mme Alexandrine Roubière (GIPSO Director)

 Non-voting members are :

  • SIRIC Director: Pr Pierre Soubeyran
  • SIRIC Deputy Director: Pr François-Xavier Mahon
  • SIRIC General Manager: Mr Paolo Meoni
  • Regional council President: Mr Alain Rousset

> The Scientific Advisory Board includes 8 internationally renowned researchers from the five disciplines of the SIRICs (biological and clinical research, epidemiology, public health, human and health Sciences) with expertise covering the six BRIO programs, from France and abroad. Its main role is to give an expert opinion on BRIO’s research strategy and achievements. An update on BRIO research results is presented to the Scientific Advisory Board once a year.

The members of the Scientific Advisory Board are as follows :

> The Steering Committee, coordinated by BRIO Director, is involved in the implementation of BRIO‘s strategy, the management of the SIRIC policy and all necessary regulatory activities. To this end, it is ultimately responsible for the organisational and functional efficiency of BRIO. Meetings are organized monthly and whenever required by the Director.

The members of the Steering Committee are as follows :

  • SIRIC Director : Pierre Soubeyran (Bergonié Institute)
  • SIRIC Deputy Director : François-Xavier Mahon (CHU de Bordeaux)
  • SIRIC General Manager : Paolo Meoni (SIRIC)
  • SIRIC Head of Project Management : Frederic Elustondo (SIRIC)
  • BRIO Program coordinators : Hervé Bonnefoi (Bergonié Institute), Jean-Michel Coindre (Bergonié Institute), François-Xavier Mahon (CHU), Jean Rosenbaum (Bordeaux University), Pierre Soubeyran (Bergonié Institute), Antoine Italiano (Bergonié Institute)
  • Epidemiology & Public Health : Simone Mathoulin-Pélissier (ISPED)
  • Humanities and Social Sciences : Bruno Quintard (Bordeaux University)
  • Research Units : Richard Iggo (Bergonié Institute)
  • Platforms : Pierre Dubus (Bordeaux University)
  • CHU de Bordeaux : Alain Ravaud, Joacquin Martinez
  • University of Bordeaux : Jean-Luc Pellegrin
  • Bergonié Institut  : Christian Fillatreau
  • Cancéropôle GSO : Olivier Claverie